Finalists in the 2018 New Zealand Hi-Tech Awards announced

Published on the 04/04/2018 | Written by Newsdesk

According to the judges, this year’s awards will also celebrate high diversity…

The tech sector’s cause célèbre, a lack of diversity and a self-imposed pale, male and stale reputation, has added a cause behind the celebration of this year’s Hi-Tech Awards.

The Awards will not only go to the country’s best tech companies, which are boasted to be the best yet on display, but, in a bid to make the sector more attractive to woman, Maori and businesses in the provinces, the most diverse.

Quite how that diversity, or lack thereof, is being measured is not entirely clear, but the multi-cultural rank & file in most IT teams apparently do not count, nor qualify.

The multi-cultural rank & file in most IT teams apparently do not count, nor qualify.

“This year’s finalists span the full spectrum of the hi-tech sector and the country,” says Jen Rutherford, chair of the Hi-Tech Trust.

“For 2018 we have made a really big push to ensure even greater diversity across the board and it’s great to see so many areas of the country represented, as well as a huge increase in the number of finalists led by women. The number of finalists with female CEO’s has almost doubled year-on-year. Whilst we are not there yet, we are moving in the right direction. Our industry is truly in great shape,” says Rutherford.

Run by the NZ Hi-Tech Trust, the Awards, now in its 24th year, recognises success across the software, electronics, telecommunications, mobile, agritech and creative industries.

Local judges will be joined by a world class line up of international judges including Bill Reichert, Pascal Finette, Rohit Shukla, Savannah Peterson, Dr Catherine Mohr, Claudia Batten, Dr Rosie Boswoth, Rebekah Campbell, Katherine Corich, Pat Kenealy, Richard Keyse, Nick Lambert and Andy Lark.

“We are truly thankful to all our judges both here in New Zealand and around the world who give of their own time to assist us with judging,” says Rutherford.

“The Hi-Tech Awards continue to be the New Zealand technology industries most important celebration of success and a wonderful showcase for our innovation and talent.”

The 2018 Hi-Tech Awards finalists are:

PwC Hi-Tech Company of the Year

  •             Invenco
  •             Pushpay
  •             Serko
  •             Straker Translations
  •             Vend

Coretex Hi-Tech Emerging Company of the Year

  •             Ask Nicely
  •             Invert Robotics
  •             Link Engine Management
  •             Soul Machines
  •             TracPlus

New Zealand Venture Investment Fund (NZVIF) Hi-Tech Start-Up Company of the Year

  •             Banqer
  •             Code Avengers
  •             SwipedOn
  •             Wherewolf

IBM Most Inspiring Individual Award

  •             Peter Beck
  •             Katrina Clokie
  •             Lillian Grace
  •             Sue Suckling
  •             Nathan Torkington

Callaghan Innovation Maori Innovation Award

  •             Code Avengers
  •             Kiwa Digital
  •             Nikora Ngaropo Motion & Design
  •             Origins Sofware
  •             Straker Translations
  •             Takiwa

Duncan Cotterill Innovative Hi-Tech Software Award

  •             Dexibit
  •             RedShield Security
  •             Vensa Health
  •             Wellington Drive Technologies

Kiwibank Hi-Tech Innovative Services Award

  •             Beca
  •             Healthcare Applications
  •             Invenco
  •             Serko

Endace Innovative Hi-Tech Hardware Product Award

  •      Calibre Contracting Equipment
  •       Enatel
  •       MARS Bioimaging
  •        Ubco

Quick Circuit Best Contribution to the NZ Tech Sector by an Internationally Headquartered Company

  •             Dimension Data
  •             Enghouse Interactive
  •             IBM
  •             Thinxtra

NZTE Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Agritech Sector

  •             Gallagher Group
  •             Hivetech
  •             Origins Software

Xero Hi-Tech Young Achiever

  •             Aliesha Staples
  •             Breccan McLeod-Lundy
  •             Craig Piggot

ATEED Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Creative Sector

  •             Dexibit
  •             Serato
  •             Shuttlerock

Visa Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Public Good

  •             Banqer
  •             Collaborate
  •             EROAD
  •             Healthcare Applications

A gala dinner will be held at the Horncastle Arena in Christchurch on 25 May.

Post a comment or question...

Your email address will not be published.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow iStart to keep up to date with the latest news and views...