CIO Awards finalists unveiled

Published on the 17/05/2019 | Written by Heather Wright

Zag_CIO Award finalists

Who’s who in the running for top IT awards…

Fifteen individuals and companies will be vying for top honours at the CIO Awards in Auckland next month, with the finalists announced at a gala event last night.

The annual awards – now in their thirteenth year – recognise individuals and teams who have shown leadership, innovation and insight in their contribution to ICT and business.

A who’s who of companies and individuals are among this year’s finalists, including Foodstuffs North Island, Auckland City Council, Watercare, Waitemata District Health Board NZQA, Fidelity Life, MYOB and Zag (pictured).

Paul Littlefair from LIC, Sean Davidson (VTNZ) and Chris Trigg from Southern Cross Health Society are all in the running for the individual award of CIO of the Year, won last year by Air New Zealand chief digital officer Avi Golan.

Meanwhile, Jean Yang from McCarthyFinch and Ian White from ZX Security were announced as finalists for the Emerging ICT Leader award.

Judging for the awards includes an interview with the judges, with the judging panel representing the top echelon of New Zealand’s ICT and business community.

This year, the eight strong panel includes New Zealand Trade and Enterprise CIO Richard Kay; Wendy Bussen, director of Bussen Consulting; and Mondiale CIO Garry Collings and Tower CIO Peter Muggleston.

Iggy Pintado, Managing Director of IDC Australia and New Zealand, says “The 2019 CIO Award finalists have not only demonstrated excellence in delivering ICT, they have proven their ability to drive business transformation through innovation, leadership and culture.

“New Zealand can be proud of the talent on display, we congratulate each finalist and look forward to celebrating the achievements amongst the industry on June 12.”

With tickets to the CIO Awards Gala Dinner normally selling out quickly, this year’s event has been moved to the larger Spark Arena with more than 950 senior IT and business professionals expected to attend.

Tickets for the awards dinner are available here.

The full list of finalists is:

CIO of the Year Award for demonstrating innovation and positioning of the role of the CIO strategically within a company

Sponsor: CompTIA

Paul Littlefair, LIC
Sean Davidson, Vehicle Testing New Zealand
Chris Trigg, Southern Cross Health Society (pictured)

Business Transformation through Digital and IT honouring the achievements of organisations who have successfully implemented a business transformation initiative through digital and disruptive technologies

Sponsor: Clearpoint

Foodstuffs North Island
Auckland City Council
Waitemata District Health Board

Best ICT Team Culture recognising organisations recognising the need to foster an excellent team culture and nurture and retain a diverse IT staff to create a competitive advantage for the entire organisation

Sponsor: Halo Consulting

Zag (formerly Soltius)
Fidelity Life

Engaging New Zealand in ICT showcasing outstanding initiatives by enterprise, public sector or academic institutions that address diversity issues, engage youth and/or provide lifelong learning in ICT.

Sponsor: Juniper Networks

Tahi Rua Toru Tech
CreateOps Ltd & Y-Tech?

Emerging ICT Leader of the Year recognising and encouraging exceptional ICT talent in professionals under the age of 33

Sponsor: The University of Auckland Business School

Jean Yang, McCarthyFinch
Ian White, ZX Security

The recipient of the Sharp-sponsored Outstanding Contribution to Technology and Business in New Zealand award – given to a high profile business person whose contribution has significantly and uniquely impacted the grater New Zealand, or global, business community from an IT perspective – will also be announced at the CIO Awards Gala Dinner.


Post a comment or question...

Your email address will not be published.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow iStart to keep up to date with the latest news and views...